Change odometer from miles to kilometers

Tips and cheat

Topic author
dragomir
Beiträge: 12
Registriert: Donnerstag 21. Mai 2009, 22:51
Vorname: Dragomir

Change odometer from miles to kilometers

Beitrag von dragomir » Dienstag 9. Juni 2009, 13:51

Can i change the odometer to display from miles to kilometers? Or i have to exchange the all electronics?

Benutzeravatar

Axman
Moderator
Beiträge: 4079
Registriert: Mittwoch 5. Februar 2003, 13:00
Vorname: Axel
Wohnort: 58708 Menden
Alter: 73
Kontaktdaten:

Beitrag von Axman » Dienstag 9. Juni 2009, 14:14

Hi Dragomir,

that´s no easy feat.. :( .. and can only be done by an authorized Yamaha dealership..To my knowledge they can change it by reprogramming the instrument and no, you don´t have to buy new electronics.. :-D

greets

Axman
...es ist ein Zeichen von Intelligenz seine Grenzen zu kennen..


Topic author
dragomir
Beiträge: 12
Registriert: Donnerstag 21. Mai 2009, 22:51
Vorname: Dragomir

Beitrag von dragomir » Dienstag 9. Juni 2009, 15:21

Thanks for the information.

Benutzeravatar

Blubber
Beiträge: 2214
Registriert: Montag 17. Oktober 2005, 16:39
Vorname: Ralf
Wohnort: Pforzheim
Alter: 59

Re: Change odometer from miles to kilometers

Beitrag von Blubber » Sonntag 14. Juni 2009, 22:22

Hello Dragomir,

at our 6th. Intl. meeting we tried to set the clock correctly and by accident we changed from kilometers to miles. This was of course at a model build in 2006.

It was quite easy: press both, the select and reset button, and than turn the key to on.
This will change either from km to miles or vice versa.
Unfortunatel, how this works at a bike from the first series, I don't know.

Best regards

Ralf

Benutzeravatar

Axman
Moderator
Beiträge: 4079
Registriert: Mittwoch 5. Februar 2003, 13:00
Vorname: Axel
Wohnort: 58708 Menden
Alter: 73
Kontaktdaten:

Re: Change odometer from miles to kilometers

Beitrag von Axman » Dienstag 16. Juni 2009, 11:50

Hi Dragomir,

Ralfs info only works on a 2005 and up model...on a pre-2005 model this procedure will only cancel the "oil change" info..sorry :(

Greets

Axman
...es ist ein Zeichen von Intelligenz seine Grenzen zu kennen..


Topic author
dragomir
Beiträge: 12
Registriert: Donnerstag 21. Mai 2009, 22:51
Vorname: Dragomir

Re: Change odometer from miles to kilometers

Beitrag von dragomir » Donnerstag 18. Juni 2009, 08:50

thanks again for info

-- Do 18 Jun 2009, 8:50 --

I'd like to ask another question. Can i take electronics from model 2005 and put it in earlier models for example 2003?

Benutzeravatar

Axman
Moderator
Beiträge: 4079
Registriert: Mittwoch 5. Februar 2003, 13:00
Vorname: Axel
Wohnort: 58708 Menden
Alter: 73
Kontaktdaten:

Re: Change odometer from miles to kilometers

Beitrag von Axman » Donnerstag 18. Juni 2009, 09:10

Hi Dragomir,

no, this will not work..or only if you change all the electrics/electronics (Instruments, CDI-Unit, the complete wiring-harness etc..) that´s a lot of work and very expensive parts..

greets

Axman
...es ist ein Zeichen von Intelligenz seine Grenzen zu kennen..

Antworten